An Oddball Salesman?

• 118 posts
    April 1, 2022 6:57 AM PDT

I suppose I’m an oddball salesman. I bristle at the usual don’t take no for an answer and the take no prisoner attitudes of aggressive stations. I don’t even go there. I’d rather win because they like me and because I understand the client. It might be a slower road but when I get them, they stay. I’m not pushy.

I applied for a job in the early 1990s and the guy took my resume and other material and set it on his desk without even looking at it. He proceeded to tell me about the station and about him. He talked about the staff, what his goals were and what he needed to happen to reach those goals.

Then he asked me about what made me get in radio and describe what I liked and didn’t like. He cleverly got me talking about radio sales and where my comfort zone was in sales. Then he asked if I wanted the job.

I walked away with a new job with a boss I understood and my boss understood me. He knew what I could do and how I did it. He felt we were a good fit. I think we were. I worked for him the rest of his life, over two decades.

That got me thinking about sales. People buy when they like you and trust you. This is especially true in small market radio where I find myself loving every minute of it.

I take a very different approach. I like to tell people I am looking for a job but I don’t want to go on payroll. I say I’m a marketing person and I help businesses to continue and hopefully grow their success because that is how I succeed. I explain I represent a radio station but I work for the client.

I tell them I’ve always loved radio. I tell them I would sit in my room on a rainy day and announce records to a pencil pretending to be on the radio. I say I had a little radio station that went a block or two by the time I was in 6th grade. I explain I was on the air and in programming my first 10 years before being put in sales against my will but grew to love working for my client’s success.